23.5 C
Saturday, July 13, 2024

Just In: PDP names campaign leaders for Ondo, Edo guber polls




Acting National Chairman of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Umar Iliya Damagun has inaugurated National Campaign Councils for Edo and Ondo State Governorship election scheduled to hold in September and November, 2024 respectively.

In his opening remarks, Amb. Damagun thanked members of the party in Edo and Ondo States for raising the bar in internal democracy which produced the party’s Candidates in the two States.

He, however disagreed with President Bola Ahmed Tinubu who boasted that he was going to deliver Edo State to the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the September election.

“Mr President has apparently forgotten that, he failed in his previous attempt to snatch Edo State. He has also forgotten the slogan then that Edo No Be Lagos”, he said.

“We will not sit down here and allow anybody to steal our mandate in either Edo or Ondo State. Our records in Edo State under Godwin Obaseki speak volumes. So we are sure to have Edo State back to back.” Damagun added.

“For Ondo State, what we have seen is very encouraging. The people have resolved to re-occupy their rightful place in the scheme of things. The antics of the APC will surely fail in Ondo State. They are already campaigning for us by the way and manner they have run the affairs of our country.”

Delivering a Goodwill Message at the event, former National Vice-chairman, South West, Dr Eddy Olafeso assured the national leadership of the party that, Ondo State PDP is more united than anytime before since the emergence of HE Agboola Alfred Ajayi as the Governorship Candidate of the party. “Nigerians have been battered and humiliated by the APC government, we need to bring Nigerians out from the slavery and bondage in which we are” Olafeso said.

H.E Rt Hon Umar Ahmadu Fintiri was inaugurated as Chairman of the National Campaign Council for Edo State,while H.E Sen. Ademola Adeleke was inaugurated as Chairman on National Campaign Council for Ondo State.

The inauguration was well attended by Council members including serving Governors, Senators and House of Representatives Members.

Flags were presented to HE Fintiri and HE Prince Kola Adeusi, Deputy Governor, Osun State who represented the Governor of Osun State.

Others who attended the inauguration were, Hon Debo Ologunagba, National Publicity Secretary, Basorun Tola Alabere, State Acting Chairman, Chief Segun Adegoke, Dr Tayo Dairo, Rt Hon Bakita Bello, Dr Bode Iwaloye, Prince John Ola Mafo, Dr Kola Ademujimi, Engr Clement Faboyede, Chief Tunde Akindehin, Àyo Fadaka, Engr Raphael Ademulegun, Wole Akinjo, Barr Oluseye Olujimi, Dare Akinwale, Kemi Adesanya amongst others.

According to the Ondo State Publicity Secretary of the party, Ondo State, Kennedy Ikantu Peretei,

With this inauguration, the Ondo Campaign Trail will hit the ground running immediately.